The story of the Welbeck Sawmill began in 1849 when an Irish settler, Pat Walsh, took up land and built a cabin near the River Styx in Bentinck Township. By 1872 a water powered sawmill was operating, meeting the needs of settlers for barn timbers and lumber. In 1892 a post office was established across the road from the present retail store and was named the Welbeck Post Office. Subsequently the mill was called the Welbeck Sawmill. Fires and hard times have been the enemies of sawmill businesses over the years.
In 1966 a fire completely destroyed the water powered mill but a new mill was built utilizing diesel and electric power. In 1984 the shingle mill destroyed by the 1966 fire was rebuilt and is today a great attraction for visitors. Come and enjoy a tour of this unique Grey County landmark in its beautiful natural setting.
Coordinator: Bonna Rouse 519.372.9897
Location: 522598 Welbeck Rd. RR2 Durham
Take Welbeck Rd. west off Hwy. 6 north 7 1/2 miles north of Durham then 2 miles to the Sawmill.
522598 Welbeck Rd.
West Grey, ON
View Larger Map